Greg Klein's Blog

Fun with an HP 7475 Plotter

with one comment

So I got an HP 7475 Plotter used. I’ve been playing with it using a Python library called Chiplotle.

Recently I’ve been making fractals on it. Here’s a Hilbert curve I made:

Hilbert curve on a plotter

Hilbert curves are space filling fractal curves. This means that when iterated to infinity, at no point is there a straight line; thus it is a curve. Very neat!

Iterated deeper this time

In order to get this to work, I wrote a turtle graphics class for the Chiplotle library. If anyone finds this useful, you can grab the code here.

Oh, and here’s a Sierpinski triangle:

A Sierpinski Triangle

Written by gregklein

January 16, 2012 at 9:05 pm

Posted in fractal, math, python

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] you don’t already know, I like fractals a […]


Leave a comment